it’s not all luck

Standard

scare-a-hero

FROM A CONVERSATION MADE PUBLIC AT MONOT, IN BUGOLOBI, AT THE JULY #ExpertTalksUg event:
A few years ago I noticed that some young people kept telling me that I was “lucky” or had been “lucky” to have a job or whatever they perceived to be ‘okay’ aka ‘doing well’ (never wealthy or rich or successful).
The idea irritates me especially with the realisation that some people out there are relying on this so-called luck for their success at God-knows-what.
Well, it’s not all luck.
Of course, there is some luck involved in getting to where one gets to – whether successful, rich or even just happy. Even lottery winners have to spend a little bit of money buying the damn ticket, so there is some work that goes into winning.
In my case, I know there is some luck involved in getting me to where I am – I am lucky that…

View original post 1,687 more words

Leave a Reply

